Holy Week Chants

Some Holy Week chants in Byzantine style chant (some include text):

Stichera for Holy Monday:

Praise Him with the sound of trumpet, praise Him with the psaltery and harp.

As the Lord went to His voluntary Passion, He said to His apostles on the way: “Behold we go up to Jerusalem and the Son of man shall give Himself up as it is written of Him.” Come then and let us journey with Him with pure minds, let us crucified with Him and die for His sake to the pleasures of this life, that we may also live with Him and hear Him no longer as now in the earthly Jerusalem due to suffer , but rather saying to us: “I ascend to My Father and your Father and to My God and your God and I shall raise you up to the Jerusalem on high in the Kingdom of heaven.”

Behold Thy Bridegroom:

Behold, the Bridegroom cometh in the middle of the night, and blessed is that servant whom He shall find watching; and again unworthy is he whom He shall find heedless. Beware, therefore, O my soul, lest thou be overcome with sleep, lest thou be given up to death, and be shut out from the Kingdom. But rather rouse thyself and cry: Holy, Holy, Holy art Thou, our God, through the Theotokos have mercy on us.

Holy Week Hymn:

On seeing Thine unjust slaughter O Christ, the pure Virgin cried in grief, “O most sweet Child, how is it that Thou diest lawlessly. How is it that Thou Who, has suspended all the earth upon the floods of waters, art now Thyself, suspended from the Tree. O most merciful Benefactor, do not leave me, Thy Mother and handmaid, alone.”

Lamentation First Stasis — from Holy Friday

In a grave they laid Thee,
O my life and my Christ,
And the armies of the Angels were sore amazed
As they sand the praise of Thy submissive love.

Verse: Thou hast enjoined Thy commmandments, that we should keep them most diligently.

O my dear Christ Jesus,
King and Ruler of all,
Why to them that dwelt in Hades didst Thou descend?
Was it not to set the race of mortals free?

Verse:I will confess Thee with uprightness of heart, when I have learned judgements of Thy righteousness.

In a grave they laid Thee,
O my Life and my Christ,
Yet the Lord of death has Thou by Thy
death destroyed;
And the world of Thee doth drink rich streams of life.

Verse: In my heart have I hid Thy sayings that I might not sin against Thee.

O my sweet Lord Jesus,
My salvation, my light,
How art thou now by a grave and its darkness hid
How unspeakable the mystery of Thy love.

Verse: Make me to understand the way of Thy statutes, and I will ponder on Thy wondrous works.

Thou, O Christ was buried
In a tomb newly made,
Thus renewing the whole nature of mortal men
By arising from the dead as God in truth.

Verse: Before I was humbled, I trangressed therefore Thy saying have I kept.

“Who eill give me water
For the tears I must weep?”
So the Maiden wed to God cried with loud lament,
“That for my sweel Jesus I may rightly mourn.”

Verse: Thou art good, O Lord and in Thy goodness teach me Thy statutes.

Savior, Thou wast hidden
‘Neath the earth like the sun,
And was covered as with shrouds by the right od death.
But more radiantly do Thou arise, O Lord.

Lamentation Second Stasis — from Holy Friday:

Leave a Reply

