Today Hell Cries Out Groaning — Holy Saturday Hymn

A hymn sung on Holy Saturday:

TODAY HELL CRIES OUT GROANING:
I SHOULD NOT HAVE ACCEPTED THE MAN BORN OF MARY.
HE CAME AND DESTROYED MY POWER.
HE SHATTERED THE GATES OF BRASS.
AS GOD, HE RAISED THE SOULS THAT I HAD HELD CAPTIVE.
GLORY TO THY CROSS AND RESURRECTION, O LORD!   

TODAY, HELL CRIES OUT GROANING:
MY DOMINION HAS BEEN SHATTERED.
I RECEIVED A DEAD MAN AS ONE OF THE DEAD,
BUT AGAINST HIM I COULD NOT PREVAIL.
FROM ETERNITY I HAD RULED THE DEAD,
BUT BEHOLD, HE RAISES ALL.
BECAUSE OF HIM DO I PERISH.
GLORY TO THY CROSS AND RESURRECTION, O LORD!

TODAY, HELL CRIES OUT GROANING:
MY POWER HAS BEEN TRAMPLED UPON.
THE SHEPHERD IS CRUCIFIED AND ADAM IS RAISED.
I HAVE BEEN DEPRIVED OF THOSE WHOM I RULED.
THOSE WHOM I SWALLOWED IN MY STRENGTH I HAVE GIVEN UP.
HE WHO WAS CRUCIFIED HAS EMPTIED THE TOMB.
THE POWER OF DEATH HAS BEEN VANQUISHED.
GLORY TO THY CROSS AND RESURRECTION, O LORD!

Leave a Reply

