A Statement by Metropolitan Jonah

The news released Friday that Metropolitan Jonah was taking  time off for a personal retreat has been used by some to spread false rumors. In the video below Metropolitan Jonah makes a personal statement about the situation:

However, due to inaccurate reporting on the Internet stating that I had been deposed, that I had resigned, that I am on a leave of absence, rumors that have spread worldwide and have caused great concern among many. I owe you the faithful of this diocese clarification of the facts.

I am still your Metropolitan. I am still your diocesan bishop. I am still the active primate of the Orthodox Church in America. The reports are not true. I am merely taking a retreat, a time for reflection. (Text from here, which may require a sign-in to Facebook.)

Comments are closed.