Good and Holy Friday

Some clips from services for Good and Holy Friday from Holy Cross Orthodox Church in High Point, North Carolina:

Matins of Holy Friday

Christ is Laid in the Tomb:

Lamentations/Procession

“Do Not Lament Me, O Mother” from the Ninth Ode of the Paschal Nocturnes (celebrated Saturday evening  just before Midnight)  at St. Maximus the Confessor Orthodox Church in Denton, Texas:

2 Responses to Good and Holy Friday

  1. Susan Peterson says:

    How does your priest feel about videotaping? I videotaped a minute and a half of the procession with the shroud at my church, and the priest saw me from under the shroud, and I could tell he was not pleased. I felt I could still tell he was not pleased with me when he gave me communion tonight.
    So I have been wondering, is there something irreverent about filming parts of the liturgy while one is also participating in it? I only wanted to show the beauty of this worship to friends who aren’t familiar with it.
    Susan

    • orthocath says:

      These videos are not from my parish. As for our priest, I don’t know. I’ve not asked him. Personally, I think it would be good to do so beforehand. Hopefully, he would agree that it would be good to do so to show the beauty of it like you said.

Leave a Reply

