An Introduction to the Music Traditions of the Orthodox Church

 

One Response to An Introduction to the Music Traditions of the Orthodox Church

  1. Reblogged this on Orthodox in the District and commented:
    A favorite blogger of mine, OrthoCath, a former Roman Catholic who converted to Orthodoxy, briefly relapsed to his original faith, and then at last entered the Orthodox Church to stay, posted this beautiful compilation of chants on their blog page.
    I’ve found that one of the most – if not the most – compelling parts about the Orthodox Tradition is its transcendent, other-worldly music. Our chant speaks to the soul in a way which no other music can do. Before my mind had decided to leave the Roman Catholic faith, as soon as I heard the choir singing at my cathedral, my heart- and my ears- knew I had found a home in Orthodoxy, by the grace of God.

Leave a Reply

